The Dream

The Sun rises

Chirping of birds and scent of Orchids

A soft cold breeze blew

My gi is bright white

In black hakama I was

Sat in seiza

A grumpy old man in front

Falling and tumbling people around me

Thrown one by one

That face of discontent

White beard and white brows

Grumbled

“You there!”

“Get over here”

He said

A calm embrace

His arm was

A smile upon my face

And he smiled

As I engaged him

“You can learn from anyone, for I am not the only source of truth”

Receiving the shiho-nage

I am awaken

A morning of bliss

(Inspired by a dream of O’sensei)

Leave a Reply

